Franklin Historical Society -- Franklin, New Hampshire
The Franklin Historical Society was incorporated in 1981 to study and preserve the history of Franklin.
Housed in the Historic Webster Tay/House, a part of Daniel Webster's "Elms Farm" from 1799-1855, later the New Hampshire Orphanage from 1871-1959, and now the Webster Place Recovery Center, the Society meets on the first Thursday of the month from April through November. Scroll down the page to see directional photos.
View or Print Directions to the Webster/Tay House
21 Holy Cross Rd
Every time new donations arrive at the Society, the potential exists for an exciting, stimulating and educational journey into discovery. A never-before-seen vintage photograph can shed light on a piece of the bygone past, a newspaper clipping can solve an enduring mystery, or a document may cause more questions to arise than it answers. It is all part of the process of appropriately cataloging, storing, and considering each new acquisition for fresh or expanded displays or ongoing projects. As an example, an 1852 letter by Daniel Webster to Monica McCarty, a one-time slave for whom Webster paid to have her become a free woman and his paid cook, thus beginning a lengthy association (after Webster’s death, President Franklin Pierce sought her services--and she refused), recently fell into the Society's hands. This particular missive is Webster's own recipe for fish chowder, which will now be included in the upcoming Franklin Historical Society’s cookbook.
To get to the Franklin Historical Society in the Webster/Tay house from Route 3, turn at this sign onto Holy Cross Road.
The Historical Society is then the first building on the right.